Anything but colorless among the Fiskeläge on Gotland – the Vitvär Fiskeläge

Vitvär-Fiskeläge-Fiskeläge-Gotland-Leica-Summilux-1.4-50-asph.-Kodak-Ektar
Vitvär Fiskeläge, Fiskeläge Gotland, Leica Summilux 1.4 50 asph., Kodak Ektar | © mare.photo

We visited the simple and beautiful seaside resort of Ljugarn on the southeast coast of Gotland and made a detour to the famous Raukar area Folhammar. Here we meet an originally preserved extensive fishing site.

Anything but colorless among the Fiskeläge on Gotland – the Vitvär Fiskeläge

In the north of the historic seaside resort of Ljugarn we find an authentic fishing place of Gotland, the Vitvär Fiskeläge. The huts of the Vitvär Fiskeläge are a bit inland, far behind the beach, while the wooden boats and slipways in the dunes are waiting above the sandy beach. A wooden walkway leads through the middle of the beach grass.

The winds along the roadside of the Vitvär Fiskeläge bear witness to the end of the 18th century fishery. Because at this time began the construction of the Vitvär Fiskeläge. About 20 huts were built between the 18th and 20th centuries, the newer buildings were built of wood. The older houses have roofs made of thin sandstone or limestone bricks. Today, the traces of sun, rain, wind and salt water are clearly visible in the Vitvär Fiskeläge.

In the Vitvär Fiskeläge in Ljugarn every fisherman had his own boat with up to four beds. But one used the fishing place only seasonally and also only as a sideline, because as a main source of income was the agriculture.

In the spring and autumn the Fiskeläge Vitvär caught mainly the Lekströmming, in the April to June one caught salmon, in the course of June the cod floated in the nets, which was mostly dried in Scandinavia and further processed to Stockfisch. Between mid summer and September the fishermen caught mainly flounders.

During the last century it became increasingly quiet around the Vitvär Fiskeläge, in the end, there was no commercial fishing. From the former huts of the Vitvär Fiskeläge, holiday accommodation has become in recent years, in which one can absorb the charm and the environment of the former fishery. Today, the Vitvär Fiskeläge is one of the most interesting Fiskeläge on Gotland.

The images of the Vitvär Fiskeläge are analogous to the Leica M Summilux 1.4 50 asph. originated on Kodak Ektar.

Leave a Comment

Fiskeläge auf Gotland  – Fischerstelle Vitvär Fiskeläge

Vitvär Fiskeläge, Fiskeläge Gotland, Leica Summilux 1.4 50 asph., Kodak Ektar
Vitvär Fiskeläge, Fiskeläge Gotland, Leica Summilux 1.4 50 asph., Kodak Ektar | © mare.photo

Wir haben den schlichten und schönen Badeort Ljugarn an der Südostküste Gotland besucht und einen Abstecher in das berühmte Raukar-Gebiet Folhammar gemacht. Hier treffen wir auf eine original erhaltene weitläufige Fischerstelle.

Alles andere als farblos unter den Fiskeläge auf Gotland – die Vitvär Fiskeläge

Im Norden vom historischen Badeort Ljugarn treffen wir auf eine authentische Fischerstelle von Gotland, der Vitvär Fiskeläge. Die Hütten der Vitvär Fiskeläge liegen ein wenig landeinwärts, weit hinter dem Strand, während die Holzboote und die Slipanlagen im Dünengras oberhalb des feinsandigen Strandes warten. Ein Holzsteg führt mitten durch das Strandgras.

Die Winden am Wegesrand der Vitvär Fiskeläge geben Zeugnis von der Fischerei gegen ende des 18. Jahrhunderts. Denn zu diesem Zeitpunkt begann die Errichtung der Vitvär Fiskeläge. Etwa 20 Hütten entstanden zwischen dem 18. und 20. Jahrhundert, die neueren Gebäude baute man aus Holz.  Die älteren Häuser tragen Dächer aus dünnen Sandstein- oder Kalksteinziegeln. Heute sind in der Vitvär Fiskeläge die Spuren von Sonne, Regen, Wind und Salzwasser deutlich zu sehen.

In der Vitvär Fiskeläge in Ljugarn hatte jeder Fischer mit seinem Boot eine eigene Hütte mit bis zu vier Schlafplätzen. Doch nutzte man die Fischerstelle nur saisonal und auch da nur als Nebenerwerb, denn als Haupteinnahmequelle diente die Landwirtschaft.

Im Frühjahr und Herbst wurde von der Fiskeläge Vitvär hauptsächlich der Lekströmming gefangen, in zwischen April und Juni fing man Lachs, im Laufe des Juni schwamm der Kabeljau in die Netze, der in Skandinavien meistens getrocknet und zu Stockfisch weiter verarbeitet wurde. Zwischen Midsommer und September fingen die Fischerhauptsächlich Flundern.

Während des letzten Jahrhundert wurde es zunehmend ruhiger um die Vitvär Fiskeläge, letztlich gab man die Berufsfischerei auf. Aus den einstigen Hütten der Vitvär Fiskeläge sind in den letzten Jahren Ferienunterkünfte geworden, in denen man den Charme und dei Umgebung der früheren Fischerei in sich aufnehmen kann. Heute gehört die Vitvär Fiskeläge zu den besonders sehenswerten Fiskeläge auf Gotland.

Die Aufnahmen der Vitvär Fiskeläge sind  analog mit dem Leica M Summilux 1.4 50 asph. auf Kodak Ektar entstanden.

Leave a Comment