Stryn on the Nordfjord – it doesn’t get any greener

Stryn, Strynfjellet, Nordfjord, Oppstrynsvatnet, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

We are in one of the most beautiful areas in Norway and are fascinated by the numerous shades of green that do not stop at the fjords. Mountains and sea make this region a magical paradise, where you can lie on the beach or ski in the mountains even in summer.

Stryn on the Nordfjord – it doesn’t get any greener

Stryn is located on the more unknown Nordfjord, more precisely on its picturesque side arm Innvikfjorden. The central town of Stryn belongs to the province of Vestland, which emerged from the merger of the provinces of Sogn og Fjordane and Hordaland. Stryn probably got its name from its river Strynelva, which rises at the end of Oppstrynsvatnet.

Already the journey along from the south-west Utvik via Innvik, Olden and Loen leads along the dreamlike Innviksfjorden and is highly recommended by us. All of a sudden, the almost pulsating Stryn opens in the sparsely populated and beautiful landscape.

Stryn, Leica M Elmarit, Kodak Ektar | © mare.photo

Stryn, Leica M Elmarit, Kodak Ektar | © mare.photo

After all, there are about 30oo people at home who probably don’t want to live anywhere else. Even though Stryn is manageable in size, it offers everything you could want in a small town. And so this place is also a central place of the municipality of the same name for people from the entire region around the Innviksfjorden and from the Strynefjellet. At least 7,170 people live in the municipality of Stryn.

The unique Nordfjord and the open sea associated with it are not far and ensure a fairly mild coastal climate. The mountains of Strynefjellet with their remarkable height of over 1300 meters, the internationally recognized glacier and Jostedalbreen National Park offer excellent skiing conditions even in summer. After all, the Jostedalsbreen is the largest glacier on mainland Europe. So it is not surprising to find the Stryn summer ski center near the village. Another uniqueness in Norway.

And for a romantic trip, the Uneseco cultural heritage Geiranger and Geirangerfjord are ideal. Until then, you can move along two of Norway’s most beautiful landscape routes.

[wpgmza id=”57″]

Leave a Comment

Stryn am Nordfjord – grüner wird´s nicht

Stryn, Strynfjellet, Nordfjord, Oppstrynsvatnet, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Wir sind in einem der schönsten Gebiete Norwegens unterwegs und sind fasziniert von den zahlreichen Grün-Tönen, die selbst vor den Fjorden nicht Halt machen. Berge und Meer machen aus dieser Region ein zauberhaftes Paradies, in dem man selbst im Sommer sowohl am Strand liegen oder in den Bergen Ski fahren kann.

Stryn am Nordfjord – grüner wird´s nicht

Stryn liegt am eher unbekannteren Nordfjord, genauer gesagt an dessen malerischen Seitenarm Innvikfjorden. Der Zentralort Stryn gehört zur Provinz Vestland, die aus der Fusion der Provinzen Sogn og Fjordane und Hordaland hervorgegangen ist. Den Namen hat Stryn wohl von seinem Fluss Strynelva, der am Ende des Oppstrynsvatnet entspringt.

Schon die Anfahrt entlang vom südwestlich gelegenen Utvik über Innvik, Olden und Loen führt am traumfaften Innviksfjorden entlang und wird von uns unbedingt empfohlen. Urplötzlich öffnet sich dann in der dünn besiedelten und in seiner Schönheit kaum zu überbietenden Landschaft das schon fast pulsierende Stryn. 

Stryn, Leica M Elmarit, Kodak Ektar | © mare.photo

Stryn, Leica M Elmarit, Kodak Ektar | © mare.photo

Immerhin sind hier etwa 30oo Menschen zu Hause, die wahrscheinlich nirgendwo anders leben wollen. Auch, wenn Stryn von seiner Größe her überschaubar ist, bietet es alles, was man sich in einer Kleinstadt wünscht. Und so ist dieser Ort auch ein Zentralort der gleichnamigen Kommune für die Menschen aus der gesamten Region rund um den Innviksfjorden und aus dem Strynefjellet. In der Kommune Stryn leben immerhin etwa 7.170 Menschen.

Der einzigartige Nordfjord und damit verbunden das offene Meer sind nicht weit und sorgen für ein recht mildes Küstenklima. Auch die Berge des Strynefjellet mit ihrer beachtlichen Höhe von über 1300 Metern, der international beachtete Gletscher und Nationalpark Jostedalbreen bieten selbst im Sommer hervorragende Skiverhältnisse. Immerhin ist der Jostedalsbreen der größte Gletscher auf dem europäischen Festland. Und so verwundert es nicht, nahe des Ortes das Stryn Sommerskisenter anzutreffen. Eine weitere Einzigartigkeit in Norwegen.

Und für einen romantischen Ausflug bietet sich das Uneseco Kulturerbe Geiranger und Geirangerfjord an. Bis dahin kann man sich über zwei der schönsten Landschaftsrouten Norwegens bewegen.

Leave a Comment