Store Molvik near Berlevåg – and at the end of the street is a beach full of garbage

Store Molvik, Berlevåg, Barentssee, Barentssea, Plastik Norway, Ishavsvejen, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit M 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

In the northernmost part of Europe, the landscape becomes increasingly meager and more sensitive. We are surprised at what we find in this secluded and almost lonely environment. And not only in this …

Store Molvik near Berlevag – in the footsteps of the past. And the future

Store Molvik lies about 20 kilometers southwest of Berlevåg and the end of the Norwegian Arctic Road on the Varanger Peninsula. So if we are already thousands of kilometers to the north, then we take the last 20 kilometers narrow gravel road to the old fishing village Store Molvik in purchasing. The coast is said to be historic in Store Molvik, as is the development. But what awaits us in this highly praised environment puts all our imagination in the shade.

At the beginning of July we are on the Varanger peninsula and drive over the Ishavsvejen, the ice-sea road, to Berlevåg. From here, a narrow gravel road leads to Molvik and Store Molvik. However, this is only open in summer, during the long winter period, only an official route for snowmobiles parallel to this way.

Until 1945, Molvik was a traditional fishing settlement, as it has repeatedly found along the Norwegian Barents Sea. But with the withdrawal of German soda data, all buildings in and around Berlevåg were burned down and the people were expelled.

Store Molvik, Berlevåg, Barentssee, Barentssea, Plastik Norway, Ishavsvejen, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit M 2.8 28 asph.

Store Molvik, Berlevåg, Barentssee, Barentssea, Plastik Norway, Ishavsvejen, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit M 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

What remains are the high beach walls of coarse pebbles, which were created during the last ice age. The last section also leads through a huge pebble field that drops steeply towards the beach. The dirt road ends with a narrow bridge, without railing. Because parallel to the coast flows in this area, a wide and quite deep stream, which flows very close to the Tanafjord.

A few simple fishermen’s huts are here, originated in Store Molvik, the slipways of the boats have probably survived the rogue destruction of German soldiers in 1845 and remained as alleged scrap back. Today they serve their old function again and pull boats ashore.

Store Molvik offers beautiful, but also more challenging coastal walks in both directions in this barren and modest landscape. But as beautiful as the coast of Tanafjord in Store Molvik is, it is littered with plastic. Large and small plastic parts, freshly disposed of or washed up long ago, are assigned to fisheries as well as private households.

Used up plastic boxes, torn fishing nets, small buoys, plastic bottles, poles and broken gloves …., much of what lies here is also disposed of here, other is washed up with the storms and waves. Whether the people who live here have a sense of what they are doing with it? My heart is bleeding at this sight and the masses are so many that we can not carry them off ourselves.

So, as in this place, in Store Molvik, it looks everywhere along the Barents Sea. With sad thoughts we leave the place, which was destroyed in 1945 by insane foreign powers. Today it is the people who live here who destroy this beautiful bay, the beautiful coast on the Barents Sea by plastic waste.

But I invite you to take garbage and dispose of it properly. SORRY!!! Even if it is not your own garbage. If everyone takes something with them and so easily gives something back to the place where they are, how much could we do. And even as tourists in the business we could show that plastic packaging is from yesterday. Please let us do it. For tomorrow!!!

Leave a Comment

Finnmark

Store Molvik bei Berlevåg – und am Ende der Straße ist ein Strand voll Müll

Store Molvik, Berlevåg, Barentssee, Barentssea, Plastik Norway, Ishavsvejen, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit M 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo
Store Molvik, Berlevåg, Barentssee, Barentssea, Plastik Norway, Ishavsvejen, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit M 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Im nördlichsten Europa wird die Landschaft immer karger und ebenso sensibler. Überrascht sind wir, was wir in dieser abgeschiedenen und fast einsamen Umgebung vorfinden. Und nicht nur in dieser…

Store Molvik bei Berlevag – auf den Spuren der Vergangenheit. Und der Zukunft

Store Molvik liegt etwa 20 Kilometer südwestlich von Berlevåg und dem Ende der Eismeerstraße in Norwegen auf der Varanger Halbinsel. Wenn wir also schon tausende Kilometer in den Norden unterwegs sind, dann nehmen wir auch die letzten 20 Kilometer schmale Schotterpiste zum alten Fischerort Store Molvik in Kauf. Die Küste soll in Store Molvik historisch sein, ebenso die Bebauung. Doch was uns in dieser so angepriesenen Umgebung erwartet, stellt all unsere Vorstellung in den Schatten.

Wir sind Anfang Juli auf der Varanger Halbinsel und fahren über den Ishavsvejen, die Eismeerstraße, nach Berlevåg. Von hier aus führt ein schmaler Schotterweg bis nach Molvik udn Store Molvik. Dieser ist allerdings nur im Sommer geöffnet, während der langen Winterperiode führt lediglich ein offizieller Weg für Schneemobile parallel zu diesem Weg.

Bis 1945 war Molvik eine traditionelle Fischersiedlung, wie man sie immer wieder entlang der norwegischen Barentssee vorgefunden hat. Doch mit dem Abzug der deutschen Sodaten wurden alle Bebauungen in und um Berlevåg niedergebrannt und die Menschen vertrieben.

Store Molvik, Berlevåg, Barentssee, Barentssea, Plastik Norway, Ishavsvejen, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit M 2.8 28 asph.

Store Molvik, Berlevåg, Barentssee, Barentssea, Plastik Norway, Ishavsvejen, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit M 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Geblieben sind die hohen Strandwälle aus groben Kieselsteinen, die während der letzten Eiszeit entstanden. Der letzte Abschnitt führt denn auch durch ein riesiges Kieselfeld, dass zum Strand hin steil abfällt. Der Schotterweg endet mit einer schmalen Brücke, ohne Geländer. Denn parallel zur Küste fließt in diesem Bereich ein breiter und recht tiefer Bach, der ganz in der Nähe in den Tanafjord mündet.

Ein paar einfache Fischerhütten sind hier, in Store Molvik entstanden, die Slipanlagen der Boote haben wahrscheinlich die blindwütige Zerstörung der deutschen Soldaten im Jahr 1845 überstanden und blieben als vermeintlicher Schrott zurück. Heute dienen sie wieder ihrer alten Funktion und ziehen Boote an Land.

Von Store Molvik bieten sich in beide Richtungen schöne, aber durchaus auch anspruchsvollere Küstenwanderungen in dieser kargen und bescheidenen Landschaft an. Doch so schön die Küste des Tanafjord in Store Molvik ist, so ist sie mit Plastik übersät. Große und kleine Plastikteile, frisch entsorgt oder vor längerer Zeit angespült, dem Bereich der Fischerei genauso so zuzuordnen wie dem der privaten Haushalte.

Aufgebrauchte Kunststoffkisten, zerrissene Fangnetzte, kleine Bojen, Plastikflaschen, Stangen und kaputte Handschuhe…., vieles von dem, was hier liegt, wird auch hier entsorgt, anderes wird mit dem Stürmen und Wellen angespült. Ob die Menschen, die hier leben, ein Gespür dafür haben, was sie damit anrichten? Mein Herz blutet bei diesem Anblick und die Massen sind so viele, dass wir sie selbst nicht abtransportieren können.

So, wie an diesem Ort, in Store Molvik, sieht es überall entlang der Barentssee aus. Mit traurigen Gedanken verlassen wir den Ort, der 1945 durch wahnsinnige fremde Mächte zerstört wurde. Heute sind es die Menschen, die hier leben, die diese schöne Bucht, die traumhafte Küste an der Barentssee durch Plastikmüll zerstören.

Doch lade ich ein, Müll mitzunehmen und ordentlich zu entsorgen. BITTE!!! Auch, wenn es nicht der eigene Müll ist. Wenn jeder etwas mitnimmt und so einfach dem Ort, an dem er gerade ist, damit etwas zurück gibt- wie viel könnten wir bewirken. Und auch als Touristen im Geschäft könnten wir zeigen, dass Plastikverpackung von gestern ist. Bitte lasst es uns tun. Für morgen!!!

Leave a Comment