Lighthouses in Norway – Kvassheim Fyr lighthouse

Kvassheim Fyr, Jæren, Nordsjøvegen, Norge, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit M 2.8 28 asph.

We drive along the Norwegian coast and discover one or two lighthouses in Norway. Sometimes common, sometimes very unusual, but always unique – this is how each of these sea mark touches us in its very special way.

Lighthouses in Norway – Kvassheim Fyr lighthouse

We are in the south of Norway and drive along the Nordsjøvegen through the Jæren, the granary of Norway. On this coast we discover the southernmost lighthouses in Norway and visit the lighthouse Kvassheim Fyr today.

This lighthouse was the last of the lighthouses in Norway that were built on the south coast of the country, here in Jæren on the North Sea. In 1912 it went into operation in timber construction. For this purpose, the lantern room was placed at a height of 12 meters on the 1 1/2 floor building.

In 1984, the last lighthouse keeper served in the Kvassheim Fyr lighthouse. Then, from 1990, an automated beacon took over about 70 meters to the west.

A new lantern is a lantern mounted on a 9.30 meter high red and white concrete mast that emits two flashes every eight seconds. Depending on the direction, this signal is red, white or green. The light cone is 11.30 meters above sea level and has an intensity of 26,400 candela.

Jæren Friluftsråd became the owner of the historic buildings of Kvassheim Fyr in 2003, rebuilt and renovated them. Today the Kvassheim Fyr lighthouse is the location of a natural exhibition and a café with a fantastic panoramic view. There is also a small museum with a permanent exhibition on ship accidents and rescue at sea.

The Kvassheim Fyr lighthouse is open from late June to mid-August and on Sundays and public holidays throughout the year, except for the month of January.

Leave a Comment

Leuchttürme NO Rogaland Vestland

Leuchttürme in Norwegen | Leuchtturm Kvassheim Fyr

Kvassheim Fyr, Jæren, Nordsjøvegen, Norge, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit M 2.8 28 asph.
Kvassheim Fyr, Jæren, Nordsjøvegen, Norge, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit M 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Wir fahren entlang der norwegischen Küste und entdecken den ein oder anderen Leuchtturm Norwgens. Mal gewöhnlich, mal sehr außergewöhnlich, aber immer einzigartig- so berührt uns jedes dieser Seezeichen auf seine ganz besondere Art.

Leuchttürme in Norwegen | Leuchtturm Kvassheim Fyr

Wir sind im Süden Norwegens und fahren entlang dem Nordsjøvegen durch den Jæren, der Kornkammer von Norwegen. An dieser Küste entdecken wir die südlichsten Leuchttürme in Norwegen und besuchen heute den Leuchtturm Kvassheim Fyr.

Dieser Leuchtturm war der letzte der Leuchttürme in Norwegen, die an der Südküste des Landes, hier im Jæren an der Nordsee, entstanden. Im Jahr 1912 ging er in Holzbauweise in Betrieb. Der Laternenraum wurde dazu in einer Höhe von 12 Metern auf das 1 1/2 -Etagen- Gebäude gesetzt.

Im Jahr 1984 tat hier, im Leuchtturm Kvassheim Fyr, der letzte Leuchtturm-Wärter seinen Dienst. Dann übernahm ab dem Jahr 1990 etwa 70 Meter westlich gelegen ein automatisiertes Leuchtfeuer seine Aufgabe.

Als neues Seezeichen fungiert eine auf einem 9,30 Meter hohen rot-weißen Betonmast montierte Laterne, die alle acht Sekunden zwei Blitze abgibt. Je nach Richtung ist dieses Signal rot, weiß oder grün. Dabei befindet sich der Lichtkegel 11,30 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel und hat eine Intensität von 26.400 Candela.

Der Jæren Friluftsråd wurde im Jahr 2003 Eigentümer der historischen Gebäude, baute sie um und renovierte sie. Heute ist der Leuchtturm Kvassheim Fyr Ort einer Naturausstellung und eines Cafés mit fantastischem Panoramablick. Ebenso findet sich hier ein kleines Museum mit einer Dauerausstellung zu Schiffsunglücken und der Seenotrettung.

Geöffnet ist der Leuchtturm Kvassheim Fyr Ende Juni bis Mitte August und an Sonn- udn Feiertagen während des ganzen Jahres, außer dem Monat Januar.

Leave a Comment