Kong Oscar II Kapell – Grense Jakobselv Border Norway – Russia

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

We arrived at the north-easternmost point of Norway, on the border with Russia. In this spiked and scenic breathtaking area, we meet unexpectedly: a church.

Kong Oscar II Kapell – Grense Jakobselv Border Norway – Russia

The world stops here a bit, at least for people who never leave Western Europe. Here, in the small border town Jakobselv with its eponymous river, the northern land border between Norway and Russia, which now follows on a length of about 200 kilometers to the south. The fact that a church like the Kong Oscar II Kapell makes its contribution to border protection in a very peaceful way is a story of its own.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

But the Cold War of my childhood days is unforgotten and it seems like it is creeping and increasingly back again. An illegal border crossing can be very unpleasant and with all the fascination, it is easy to pay attention to a few things, which we address in a separate article.

When Jakobsleva was still a river in nowhere

The limit, as we know it today, did not exist long ago. Because in this area lived the standard people of the Eastern Seeds, who roamed with their animals. They needed no borders, because they just moved with the animals and settled down accordingly. However, the neighboring states could not easily imagine dealing in the border area and sought an official demarcation. Norway and Russia agreed in 1826 on a common border, the area was divided.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Norway thus had very rich fishing grounds in the Barents Sea. Of course, that was also known to the fishermen on the Russian side and they ignored the official border. The Norwegian fishermen were worried about their income and called on the regional administration in Vadsø to put an end to this endeavor and so a captain’s lieutenant was sent to assess the situation on the ground. He confirmed the facts.

The Kong Oscar II Kapell in Jakobselv

But he did not want to follow the wish for gunboats. His strategy was a heavenly one. He had a church built on the Norwegian side, which was visible far from the sea. He knew about the religiosity of the Russians and their respect for a church. The granite church was consecrated in 1869 by Frederick Waldemar Hvoslef and from then on was considered a naval sign.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Four years later, on July 4, 1873, the Norwegian King Oscar II of Sweden visited this church with its 70 seats. He had brought along a marble plaque, it says in Norwegian and Sami: “Kong Oscar II heard Guds Ord her d. 4th of July 1873 “. (King Oscar II heard God’s Word here on July 4, 1873). In his honor, the church was now named as Kong Oskar II Kapell.

In the years 1883 and 1884, the Kong Oscar II Kapell got the distinctive white color, to be even better visible as a naval mark and as a border mark. But for the 100th anniversary of the Kong Oscar II Kapell removed the white color and put the church in its original form.

With the withdrawal of the German Wehrmacht also church silver from the Kong Oscar II Kapell disappeared.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Leave a Comment

Kong Oscar II Kapell – Grense Jakobselv Grenze Norwegen – Russland

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Wir sind am nord-östlichsten Punkt von Norwegen angekommen, an der Grenze zu Russland. In diesem spanungsgeladenen und landschaftlich atemberaubenden Gebiet begegnet uns wider erwartend: eine Kirche.

Kong Oscar II Kapell – Grense Jakobselv an der Grenze Norwegen zu Russland

Ein wenig hört hier die Welt auf, zumindest für Menschen, die Westeuropa nie verlassen. Hier, im kleinen Grenzort Jakobselv mit seinem gleichnamigen Fluss  ist die nördliche Landgrenze zwischen Norwegen und Russland, die nun auf einer Länge von etwa 200 Kilometer nach Süden folgt. Dass ein Gotteshaus wie die Kong Oscar II Kapell auf ganz friedliche Art ihren Beitrag zum Grenzschutz leistet, ist eine gang eigene Geschichte.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Aber der Kalte Krieg aus meinen Kindheitstagen ist unvergessen und es scheint, als wäre er schleichend und zunehmend wieder da. ein illegaler Grenzübertritt kann sehr unangenehm werden und bei aller Faszination gilt es einfach ein paar Dinge zu beachten, auf der wir in einem eigenen Artikel eingehen.

Als Jakobsleva noch ein Fluss im Nirgendwo war

Die Grenze, wie wir sin heute kennen, gab es vor langer Zeit gar nicht. Denn in diesem gebiet lebte das Normadenvolk der Ostsamen, die mit ihren Tieren umherzogen. Sie brauchten keine Grenzen, denn sie zogen eben mit den Tieren und ließen sich entsprechend nieder. Doch so einfach konnten sich die anliegenden Staaten den Umgang im Grenzgebiet nicht vorstellen und suchten eine offizielle Grenzziehung. Norwegen und Russland einigten sich im Jahr 1826 auf einen gemeinsamen Grenzverlauf, das Gebiet wurde aufgeteilt.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Norwegen hatte somit in der Barentssee die an Lacks sehr reichen Fischgründe. Das war natürlich auch den Fischern auf russischer Seite bekannt und sie ignorierten die offizielle Grenze. Die norwegischen Fischer sorgten sich um ihre Einnahmen und forderten die Regionalverwaltung in Vadsø auf, diesem Unterfangen ein Ende zu bereiten und so wurde ein Kapitänsleutnant geschickt, die Situation vor Ort einzuschätzen. Er bestätigte den Sachverhalt.

Die Kong Oscar II Kapell in Jakobselv

Dem Wunsch nach Kanonenbooten aber mochte er nicht folgen. Seine Strategie war eine himmlische. Er ließ auf norwegischer Seite eine Kirche bauen, die weit von der See aus sichtbar war. Er wusste um die Religiosität der Russen und deren Respekt vor einer Kirche. Die Kirche aus Granitgestein wurde im Jahr 1869 durch Friedrich Waldemar Hvoslef geweiht und galt von nun an auch als Seezeichen.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Grense Jakobselv, Kong Oscar II Kapell, Kodak Ektar, Leica Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Vier Jahre später, am 04.Juli 1873, besuchte der norwegische König Oscar II von Schweden dieses Gotteshaus mit seinen 70 Sitzplätzen. Mitgebracht hatte er eine Marmortafel, darauf steht in norwegisch und samisch geschrieben: „Kong Oscar II hörte Guds Ord her d. 4. Juli 1873“.  ( König Oscar II hörte hier am 4. Juli 1873 Gottes Wort) .Ihm zu Ehren wurde die Kirche nun als Kong Oskar II Kapell benannt.

In den Jahren 1883 und 1884 bekam die Kong Oscar II Kapell die markant weiße Farbe, um noch besser als Seezeichen und als Grenzzeichen sichtbar zu sein. Doch zum 100-jährigen Bestehen der Kong Oscar II Kapell entfernte man die weiße Farbe und versetzte so das Gotteshaus in seine ursprüngliche Form.

Mit dem Abzug der deutschen Wehrmacht verschwand auch auch Kirchensilber aus der Kong Oscar II Kapell.

Leave a Comment