Kodak Ektar – spring, summer, autumn … but also winter?

Geiranger-Herdalen, VW T6 California Beach 110 KW TDI 4Motion, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

A colorful analgog film and a snowy landscape, how will that harmonize? We chose the Kodak Ektar for our Norwegian tour from the southernmost to the northernmost lighthouse.

Kodak Ektar – spring, summer, autumn … but also winter?

First and foremost because the Kodak Ektar is something of a residual color enhancer even in cloudy weather in connection with high-resolution lenses. But how would he behave if we came into the winter landscape in the mountains? Will the Kodak Ektar live out its penchant for warm colors when it snows?

We started from the southernmost point in Norway and want to travel to the northernmost and easternmost point of the country. We spend the three months in our VW T6 California, and especially outdoors. Again and again we drive on our route into the mountains, sometimes up to well over 1000 meters. Our analog Leica M and Kodak Ektar are always there.

Vikafjell, Sognefjorden, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Summilux 1.4 50 asph.

Vikafjell, Sognefjorden, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Summilux 1.4 50 asph.| © mare.photo

A number of routes are still closed in May, not so much because of snowfall, but rather because of everything that has to do with defrosting the snow. These are small and large avalanches and snowboards, but also rubble, which gets into motion due to the heavy snow masses and falls on the streets.

Our overnight accommodation is often covered in snow and at the same time it is already light until late at night. We finally approach the region where the sun never sets. Snow will be with us until July. Sometimes in front of a bright blue sky, sometimes in drizzle or fog. You don’t have to drive all the way to the north of Norway. Because in the south, the scenic drama is hard to beat.

Geiranger-Herdalen , 63, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Geiranger-Herdalen , 63, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

We describe the individual sections in separate articles. Here we investigate the extent to which the Kodak Ektar has proven itself for shooting in the snow or for reproducing shades of white. Since we like to be outside, we do without theoretical pseudo-scientific laboratory games. We do what an analog film, a Kodak Ektar for, there is: we take pictures.

Kodak Ektar or Kodak Portra 160?

We have long considered whether we should use the Kodak Ektar or Kodak Portra 160 for our Norway tour. A mix of the two films was out of the question. Both the Kodak Ektar and the Kodak Portra 160 are my absolute favorites. Ultimately, we chose the Kodak Ektar because it really produces the best results even in gray and hazy weather. Snow, however, or the reproduction of white is a challenge for every film. Of course, you can also edit each picture in color, but this will lose some of the character of the film.

Supphellebreen, Fjærland, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 135,

Supphellebreen, Fjærland, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 135 | © mare.photo

The challenges with snow are very different, why you should also avoid the so-called consumer films. There are dozens of names for the different shades of white, even in snow. They should all be reproduced in a differentiated way. Likewise its plasticity, its contours and contrasts.

However, even the best Kodak Ektar is useless for cheap lenses with moderate resolution. Then the shades of white blur into a white soup.

In addition to the snow, there are usually other parts of the picture. Be it a bright red VW bus in the snow, as in our cover picture, or be it trees, houses, rocks, water or sky. All of these elements in the picture must harmonize with the snow depicted.

Vikafjell, Leo, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Vikafjell, Leo, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

As a rule, earthy, warm colors are found in snow areas wherever the snow gives way. These must also be on the same wavelength. If the snow were depicted “too cold” here, the harmony of the image would be gone. And so you will notice with the Kodak Ektar that the snow is also to a certain extent covered with a hint of reddish-brown. This is reinforced by more intense light in the mountains, but also by the reflection of the surroundings. Because snow is not all white, snow is like a clear mirror.

Saltfjellet-Svartisen-Nationalpark, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Saltfjellet-Svartisen-Nationalpark, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.| © mare.photo

And so snow looks gray when the sky is gray, bluish when the sky is blue and reddish when illuminated mountains throw their colors back onto the snow. Two examples of how differently Kodak Ektar works with sun and diffuse light.

Geiranger-Herdalen, 63, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Geiranger-Herdalen, 63, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Kodak Ektar and the Snow: A Conclusion?

Now our tour is over, the films are processed one after the other and their results are also reflected. The question remains: can you use the Kodak Ektar for shooting in the snow?

Yes, you can. The question of personal taste remains. The Kodak Ektar once again proves its diversity in a wintry environment. He does not deny his subtle penchant for warm tones. But winter landscapes don’t have to appear cold across the board. In reality, they don’t. I myself can say that I will have a hard time with the next upcoming tour with the question of whether Kodak Ektar or Kodak Portra 160. Both films are in the top league. If necessary, you have to draw lots. Ultimately, whether the picture succeeds with one or the other film is the result of your own ability.

P.S. We have compiled a list of companies that supply analog material worldwide at very good conditions. We call not to unnecessarily feed a giant like Amazon, but to order directly from the retailers. The links are there hier.

Leave a Comment

Filmvorstellung

Kodak Ektar – Frühling, Sommer, Herbst… aber auch Winter?

Geiranger-Herdalen, VW T6 California Beach 110 KW TDI 4Motion, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.
Geiranger-Herdalen, VW T6 California Beach 110 KW TDI 4Motion, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Ein farbenfroher Analgogfilm und eine Schneelandschaft, wie wird das harmonieren? Für unsere Norwegentour vom südlichsten bis zum nördlichsten Leuchtturm haben wir uns für den Kodak Ektar entschieden.

Kodak Ektar – Frühling, Sommer, Herbst… aber auch Winter?

In erster Linie, weil der Kodak Ektar auch bei trüben Wetter in Zusammenhang mit hochauflösenden Objektiven so etwas wie ein Restfarbe-Verstärker ist. Aber wie würde er sich verhalten, wenn wir im Gebirge in die Winterlandschaft kommen? Wird der Kodak Ektar bei Schnee seinen Hang zu warmen Farben ausleben?

Vom südlichsten Punkt in Norwegen sind wir gestartet und wollen bis zum nördlichsten und zum östlichsten Punkt des Landes reisen. Die drei Monate verbringen wir in unserem VW T6 California, und vor allem draußen. Immer wieder fahren wir auf unserer Route in die Berge, zum Teil bis weit über 1000 Meter hoch. Immer dabei sind unsere analoge Leica M und der Kodak Ektar.

Vikafjell, Sognefjorden, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Summilux 1.4 50 asph.

Vikafjell, Sognefjorden, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Summilux 1.4 50 asph.| © mare.photo

Im Mai sind noch etliche Strecken gesperrt, weniger wegen Schneefall, vielmehr wegen allem, was mit dem Abtauen des Schnees zu tun hat. Das sind zum Teil kleine und größere Lawinen und Schneebretter, aber auch Geröll, welches durch die schweren Schneemassen in Bewegung gerät und auf die Straßen fällt.

Oft genug liegt unser Übernachtungsplatz im Schnee und zeitgleich ist es bereits bis spät in die Nacht hell. Wir nähern uns schließlich der Region, in der die Sonne niemals untergeht. Schnee wird uns aber bis in den Juli begleiten. Mal vor strahlend blauem Himmel, ein anderes mal wieder in Nieselregen oder Nebel. Dazu muss man gar nicht bis in den Norden von Norwegen fahren. Denn schon im Süden ist die landschaftliche Dramatik kaum zu überbieten.

Geiranger-Herdalen , 63, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Geiranger-Herdalen , 63, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Die einzelnen Abschnitte beschreiben wir in eigenen Artikeln. Hier gehen wir der Frage nach, inwieweit sich der Kodak Ektar für Aufnahmen im Schnee oder für die Wiedergabe von Weiß-Tönen bewährt. Da wir gerne draußen sind, verzichten wir also auf theoretische pseudowissenschaftliche Laborspielchen. Wir machen das, wozu ein Analogfilm, ein Kodak Ektar, da ist: wir fotografieren.

Kodak Ektar oder Kodak Portra 160?

Lange haben wir überlegt, ob wir für unsere Norwegen-Tour den Kodak Ektar oder Kodak Portra 160 einsetzen. Eine Mischung der beiden Filme kam nicht infrage. Sowohl der Kodak Ektar wie auch der Kodak Portra 160 gehören zu meinen absoluten Favoriten. Letztendlich haben wir uns für den Kodak Ektar entschieden, weil er wirklich beste Ergebnisse auch bei grauem und dunstigen Wetter erzeugt. Schnee allerdings oder die Wiedergabe von Weiß ist für jeden Film eine Herausforderung. Natürlich kann man jedes Bild auch farblich nachbearbeiten, aber damit geht ein Stück Charakter des Filmes verloren. 

Supphellebreen, Fjærland, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 135,

Supphellebreen, Fjærland, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 135 | © mare.photo

Die Herausforderungen bei Schnee sind noch ganz andere, warum man auch auf die sogenannten Konsumer-Filme verzichten sollte. Es gibt duzende Bezeichnungen für die unterschiedlichen Weißtöne, auch bei Schnee. Sie alle sollen differenziert wieder gegeben werden. Ebenso seine Plastizität, seine Konturen und Kontraste.

Bei billigen Objektiven mit mäßiger Auflösung nutzt allerdings auch der beste Kodak Ektar nichts. Dann verschwimmen die Weißtöne zu einer weißen Suppe.

Zudem gibt es neben dem Schnee in der Regel noch andere Bildteile. Sei es wie in unserem Titelbild ein knallroter VW-Bus im Schnee, oder seien es Bäume, Häuser, Felsen, Wasser oder Himmel. All diese Elemente müssen auf dem Bild mit dem abgebildeten Schnee harmonieren. 

Vikafjell, Leo, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Vikafjell, Leo, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

In der Regel hat man in Schneegebieten überall dort, wo der Schnee weicht, erdig-warme Farben. Diese müssen ebenso auf einer „Wellenlänge“ sein. Würde hier der Schnee „zu kalt“ abgebilder, wäre die Harmonie des Bildes dahin. Und so wird man beim Kodak Ektar merken, dass auch der Schnee in gewissem Maße mit einem Hauch rötlich-braun überzogen wird. Verstärkt wird dies durch intensiveres Licht im Gebirge, aber auch durch die Reflexion der Umgebung. Denn Schnee ist nicht pauschal weiß, Schnee ist wie ein klarer Spiegel.

Saltfjellet-Svartisen-Nationalpark, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Saltfjellet-Svartisen-Nationalpark, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.| © mare.photo

Und so wirkt Schnee grau, wenn der Himmel grau ist, bläulich, wenn der Himmel blau ist und rötlich, wenn angestrahlte Berge ihre Farben auf den Schnee zurück werfen. Zwei Beispiele, wie unterschiedlich mit dem Kodak Ektar das Bild mit Sonne und mit diffusem Licht wirkt.

Geiranger-Herdalen, 63, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph.

Geiranger-Herdalen, 63, Kodak Ektar, Leica M Elmarit 2.8 28 asph. | © mare.photo

Kodak Ektar und der Schnee: ein Fazit?

Nun ist unsere Tour beendet, nacheinander werden die Filme verarbeitet und ebenso deren Ergebnisse reflektiert. Bleibt die Frage: kann man den Kodak Ektar für Aufnahmen im Schnee einsetzen?

Ja, man kann. Es bleibt die Frage des persönlichen Geschmacks. Der Kodak Ektar beweist in winterlicher Umgebung einmal mehr seine Vielfalt. Dabei verleugnet er nicht seinen dezenten Hang zu warmen Tönen. Aber winterliche Landschaften müssen nicht pauschal kalt wirken. Das tun sie in der Realität auch nicht.  Ich selbst kann sagen, dass ich mich bei der nächsten anstehenden Tour wieder schwer tun werde mit der Frage, ob Kodak Ektar oder Kodak Portra 160. Beide Filme spielen in der obersten Liga. Zur Not muss man losen. Ob das Bild mit dem ein oder anderen Film gelingt, ist letztlich das Ergebnis des eigenen Könnens.

P.S. Wir haben eine Liste von Firmen zusammen gestellt, die weltweit zu sehr guten Konditionen analoges Material liefern. Wir rufen dazu auf, nicht noch unnötigerweise einen Giganten wie Amazon zu füttern, sondern direkt bei den Händlern zu bestellen. Die Links dazu gibt es hier.

Unseren Artikel zum Kodak Portra 160 im Schnee mit vielen Informationen rund um das Thema „Schnee fotografieren“ gibt es hier.

Leave a Comment